Truly portable work

It’s 5:45pm.

I’m in the garden of a family member’s house, many miles from home.

I’m working (well, not right now – I’m writing this – but you get the point).

I may not be remotely technologically-minded but at moments like this I can truly appreciate the portability of my work.  Without a laptop and wifi (and the husband who makes it all work) I’d be chained to a single office and set office hours.  And I would have had to ask someone for permission to take this week off to make this trip.  Instead I can give myself permission to work around it.

There may be some late working nights on the horizon but it’s a small price to pay for flexibility.

Leave a Reply

