Everyone’s an expert

(Except me.)

Ever feel like that?  One day they’ll find me out.

Turns out there’s a name for that feeling.  (Truly, there is a label for everything.)  Impostor Syndrome.

Perversely, it seems that if you have it, you’re probably a high achiever and doing pretty well, if only you’d admit it.

I’ve been putting off blogging – employing the usual hackneyed excuses of not enough time, travelling, work, too many other things to do, nothing to say – because I was starting to feel I had to be another expert, offering great wisdom, insight and inspiration.  But I’m just me, plugging away in my small corner, and today I have no wisdom to offer.

So I won’t.  Here’s an insight, instead, into some of the thoughts that occupy a person running a business on her own from home:

Today’s work is done.  I can stop. But wait, I should just…

Thunderbugs.  Horrid little things.  What are they for? (Here’s a Wikipedia link in case you call them something different in your neck of the woods!)

What if I never get any more work, ever?

What if something really exciting is just around the corner?

Does anyone even read this stuff, or care?

Time for another cup of tea.

Thunderbugs!  If I lived in a city would there be fewer thunderbugs?

Nearly finished this bit of work, then I can tick it off the list.

More tea?

Not very enlightening is it!  But I think there should be more honesty and reality on the web, so here’s my contribution.

 

3 thoughts on “Everyone’s an expert

  1. The imposter syndrome haunts me, too. I’ve got a blog on writing fiction where I mainly post my breakthrough ideas on the subject, and yet I’m an unpublished ex-pathologist. I used to always refer to myself as an “infallible hack” in my early posts because I wanted to make it clear that I’m not an expert, just a self-doubting know-it-all with a need to write about writing. I hope it’s not necessary to fake it on the internet, because if it is, I’m doomed. I’d rather starve than lie for a living.

    Best of good fortune to you, Liz. You’re genuine! The real thing.

    M. Talmage Moorehead
    http://www.storiform.com

    • Thanks 🙂
      It’s not that I think people fake it on the internet, more that we’re all programmed to show our best side in public, and I think it’s important to acknowledge when things aren’t great, or when we stumble, if only so others don’t think we’re perfect and that they need to be perfect too.

      • I hear you. Perfectionism isn’t honesty. The world is struggling for lack of honesty. I wrote a post on the topic, in fact, “Love, Lies and Opposable Thumbs” on my blog (www.storiform.com).

Leave a Reply

