Skills for life

When I signed up as a charity fundraiser all those years ago, it hadn’t occurred to me that I’d need negotiation skills, a thick skin, and a creative imagination.

When I became a mother, I thought I was prepared for the sleepless nights, constant nurturing and complete revision of life’s priorities. (I wasn’t, but that’s another story!)  But at no point did I consider that I would need to learn any of the following:

Fixing a prized remote controlled car with nothing but duct tape.

An encyclopaedic knowledge of all things Star Wars and the ability to converse endlessly about it as if it matters.

Even more highly developed negotiation skills.  Especially at bedtime.

How to watch the same film forty-nine times, play the same game and read the same book four hundred and nine times without going crazy.

Whatever the job, there is always more to it than you think.  Any business has accounts, marketing, planning and a raft of other things to be done which aren’t what you might call the core of the business (the fundraising; the widget-making; the writing, whatever).  Even that dream business, the one you’ve been dreaming about since you were eight, the one that’s ideal because it uses all your natural abilities – even that one needs planning, financial and otherwise, and has a hundred mundane actions which need to be done to make it real. 

But if you’ve held down any kind of job, been a parent, or made anything else happen, then you do have the skills to make the dream come true as well.  It won’t happen with a flash of light and a magical rainbow.  It will happen with hard work and putting to good use the skills you’ve learned in other areas of your life.

Mind you, I hope I won’t need to use my remote-controlled car repairing abilities too often.  I think that skill needs a bit of work.

Leave a Reply

