Reasons to work at home

Days, sometimes weeks, go by in a blur of thinking and doing.

Then, on a hot (yes, hot!) September day, something clicks and I remember why I work at home.  For the walk or bike ride to school and the nonsense conversations that happen during those times.  For the garden. For the freedom. To live as well as to work.

And so I wander out to the greenhouse and pull away the yellowing tomato leaves and the dying plants to give the remaining green tomatoes space and light to ripen.  (Spending the next ten minutes scrubbing the weird yellow stuff from the tomato leaves and stems off my hands.  What is that stuff?)

It may not look like much from the outside.  But those few minutes in the garden in the September sunshine are grounding, a reminder of the reasons why: my boy, my garden,  my life.

 

Leave a Reply

