Life is seasonal

Some years I’m inspired by the glowing red globes of the tomato mountain spilling out of the greenhouse and into the kitchen, and I happily cook up pots of delicious tomato chilli jam. (Fantastic with sausages, cheese – pretty much anything, in fact.)

This year, despite the glowering and the threats from the tomatoes every time I walk into the kitchen, the cupboard remains bare of any tomato-related preserves, and I’m refusing to feel guilty.  Everything is seasonal, and I’m sure my kitchen goddess persona (ha ha) will return another day, another season.  For now, she’s frolicking in other pastures.  Or something.

A friend told me recently that she’d been inspired by my blog.  Delighted as I was, I laughed out loud when she said she’d been inspired to not work at home! She’d had her season of doing that and now she needed to go out to work and leave the domestic stuff behind.  And I completely understand that.  While I’ll not be leaving my haven of domesticity, I’ll let the preserve-making slide and enjoy the late sunshine instead.  This season won’t last forever.

3 thoughts on “Life is seasonal

  1. I know how you feel about the tomatoes. I haven’t made any preserves or anything this year with ours. We’ll just have to make do with jars of various types of courgette chutney that are already in the cupboard. You could try just blending batches of tomatoes and freezing them. They can then be used as a base for pasta sauces, soups, gravy etc.

  2. Pingback: Unexpected October blessings | Live and work at home

Leave a Reply

