Tipsy tart on turkey day

This just looks so delicious that I can’t resist sharing. I’ve added it to my mental list for Christmas eve or Christmas day, because we don’t ‘do’ Christmas pud in our house; nobody would eat it. Enjoy, and let me know (and Belladonna, whose recipe it is) if you actually make it!

American Soustannie

I think you have to have been born American to getpumpkin pie. I mean, seriously, guys, eeuw! That stuff is the exact color and consistency of baby poop, and pumpkin is a vegetable, for crying out loud! Strange enough that you put together jello and marshmallows and call it a salad – I mean, I’m completely down with starting any meal with dessert, so I think jello salad is a great idea. But pumpkin as dessert? Oh hell no! That stuff needs to be baked or boiled and served hot, with a dash of salt and a dollop of butter and maybe just the lightest sprinkle of cinnamon, and piled alongside a generous serving of bredie or oxtail. Yum!

So anyway, today, having volunteered to contribute dessert to a friend’s Thanksgiving dinner, I went back to my Soustannie roots to find something easy enough that even I can’t screw…

View original post 406 more words

Leave a Reply

