What do you see?

The garden is green now, and beautiful.  There are primroses, and strong broad bean plants, and a beloved pet rabbit.  It’s our private outdoor space, a refuge and sanctuary.  Yet many times, as I stare through the kitchen window at it, I see none of this.  I see the thoughts I’m having and the things I’m remembering and it’s all clouded by whatever emotions I’m feeling at the time.

I’m not expert in mindfulness, but I find it’s a joyful experience to remind myself what I’m doing and what I’m seeing.  What I’m doing and what I’m seeing now – this is life.  If I live only in my head, life is passing me by.

So I say to myself, this is our garden.  And suddenly I can truly see it again.

I say, I’m cooking stew for my family.  And I breathe, and I begin to see the onions as onions, not as a chore to be done while I think about something else.

When I’m holding the boy in my arms, that’s all I’m doing.  This is life.  I see it.  And it is enough.

 

Leave a Reply

