What keeps you working? All the tea in China

What small things keep you working on an ordinary Wednesday?  Or any other day of the week?  Here are some of mine:

All the tea in China.

I could probably manage to drink all the tea in India and Sri Lanka too.  Sometimes I wonder if I really like the taste or if it’s just an excuse to get up every now and again.

Fiddling about.

Sometimes the best way to get going is to do all the fiddly little things that I’ve been putting off.  Once you start feeling productive (even if all you’ve really managed to do is put off the inevitable Big Job by doing lots of less important ones) it’s somehow easier to carry on into the Big Job.

Changing tack.

One of our family sayings is, “Bored now.”  There’s a time for really getting stuck into a project to the exclusion of all others (that would be when you hear the impending whistle of a deadline about to whoosh past, à la Douglas Adams), and there’s a time for changing tack and doing something else.  That would be when you find yourself muttering, “bored now…”

Saving the new book.

I bought a new book but I’ve been saving it to read at the end of the day as a reward for a job well done.  How virtuous am I?  Actually, not very.  I lied.  The only reason I haven’t started reading it yet is because the delivery man only just delivered it.  Excuse me, I must be going now.

7 thoughts on “What keeps you working? All the tea in China

  1. Frankly, these days my Self-Gratification Monkey seems to win every damn battle… 😦

    If you don’t know what I’m talking about, see http://waitbutwhy.com/2013/10/why-procrastinators-procrastinate.html, and http://waitbutwhy.com/2015/03/procrastination-matrix.html, and http://waitbutwhy.com/2015/07/why-im-always-late.html. Funny but frighteningly true!

    Okay … NOW I am going to tackle mucking out the spare bedroom in preparation for my daughter’s visit. NOW NOW NOW!

  2. Actually I was kind of thinking that befriending the monkey, making him feel loved, and giving him a bit of what he wants, might encourage him to step aside when you need him to. But I suspect I may be taking this monkey slightly too literally. Perhaps I need to get out more!

  3. Drinking tea and fiddling always work well for me…they get me going. The tea, mainly because of the caffeine, I think. And fiddling feels like tying up lose ends, so it make me feel good, like I’ve accomplished something…and that keep me going 😉

Leave a Reply

